Sunday, July 10, 2011

NYFA Grant Award Winners

This spring, I was privileged to serve as a panelist for the New York State Foundation for the Arts in the poetry category. It was exciting to read the work of so many talented poets. Below is the list of poets who were awarded grants:

Desirée Alvarez (New York)
Ari Banias (Kings) – Gregory Millard Fellow
Jose Beduya (Tompkins)
Cara Benson (Rensselaer)
Michael Burkard (Onondaga)
Ken Chen (Kings)
Barbara Cole (Erie)
Susan Deer Cloud (Broome)
Robert Fitterman (New York)
Tonya Foster (Kings)
Rigoberto Gonzalez (Queens)
James Hall (St. Lawrence)
Brenda Iijima (Kings)
Garrett Kalleberg (Suffolk)
Amy Lawless (Kings)
Ricardo Maldonado (New York)
Ryan Murphy (Dutchess)
Jacob Rakovan (Monroe)
Wendy Walters (Kings)

The other panelists were:

Jennifer Hayashida (Kings)
Anna Moschovakis (Delaware)
Willie Perdomo (New York)
Paige Taggart (Kings)

I hope you will check out the work of these fine poets.

Wednesday, July 06, 2011

Tupelo Press announces First/Second Book Award Winner

Lantern Puzzle byYe Chun of Columbus, MO has been selected as the 2011 First/Second Book Prize Winner at Tupelo Press. DA Powell was the final judge. For more information and a list of finalists visit